She's Pretty Just Ask Her

beauty | health | lifestyle

Review: CHANEL Vitalumiere Aqua {love}

5 Comments

Rating: 5 of 5

Review:
PROS:  This was a foundation I never thought I’d like. First, Chanel pretty much equals millions of dollars, right?  Second, it has the word “Aqua” in it… which basically means watery/thin.  Why would I bother spending millions of dollars on something that’s going to be so sheer it’s barely there?  Here’s why:

before after_chanel

 

Not only does this apply like ‘Aqua’ (read: water), it sets down to a natural finish (so it’s not oily/shiny and it’s not matte/flat).  It doesn’t feel heavy, since it’s water-based and honestly doesn’t feel like I’m wearing any makeup at all on my face! Which is crazy!  It also is long-wearing and resists oil.  I continuously wear this foundation through my one hour workouts and it stays put. Doesn’t smudge or get greasy. It also lasted through 12+ hours of airport travel.  It removes easily with makeup remover wipes, soap/water or my MAC Cleanse off oil… and never has broken me out (been using for 3 weeks now). I just love it!  It’s also great to travel with because the packaging is completely plastic… yet it looks so elegant on my dresser with the fancy Chanel logo :). That’s just an added bonus.  It’s a standard 1 oz bottle too, so don’t let the size of the bottle fool you… it looks tiny, but it’s the same as 99% of the other foundations on the market.

IMG_20130808_090409_235

I love applying mine with the Real Techniques Buffing Brush (shown above; found online or at Ulta) or even just blended with my fingers. In the pics here, I used the Buffing Brush… it keeps the formula as sheer as possible and airbrushed-looking.

left and right_chanel

 

Note… it doesn’t provide FULL coverage… I’d say light/medium/buildable, so it’s very natural looking.  It covers exactly enough… I never would have thought…

CONS: Price.  At $45, it’s certainly not the most expensive foundation on the high-end market (particularly for Chanel), but it’s definitely not a $10 drugstore find.  However, it does what it says it does and MORE. So you get what you pay for here.

Also, shade selection is quite limited.  I’m wearing the darkest shade available, Beige 50… and I need to apply slightly more bronzer when I’ve spent a day in the sun if I use this foundation.

BUY HERE. Or go to your nearest Chanel counter to request a small, complimentary sample bottle first (that’s what I did). 

5 thoughts on “Review: CHANEL Vitalumiere Aqua {love}

  1. Hey Samantha o wait you like being called samy! Hey Samy! First i LOVE makeup and and have so much fun messing around with different looks and trying new stuff! I love your blog and think its awesome that your into make up too! You can email me at my email h.mascaro@aol.com and i’ll send you pictures of makeup stuff! And if you have an iphone or ipad or ipod maybe we could even face time sorry for talking so much lol anyways love you! <3 -hannah

  2. Please do a make up tutorial, or list of products you are wearing for this look, it is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers